On A Roll: Danny Bouc Powers to Georgetown $3,000 Modified Victory

GEORGETOWN, DE – On a roll.

Danny Bouc captured his second victory in a seven-day span on Friday night at Georgetown Speedway, topping the 25-lap Millman’s NAPA Auto Parts Modified feature worth $3,000 as part of the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series.

The Pipersville, Pa., driver followed a New Egypt (N.J.) Speedway conquest six days earlier.

The win for Bouc was his third at Georgetown, having a pair of victories at the Sussex County oval last October during Mid-Atlantic Championship Weekend.

“The track was awesome,” Bouc said. “Way to turn this place around, making it smaller definitely slows it down and makes it a little more technical. Hats off to everybody that takes care of this place.

“It’s awesome to see this facility. The stands are packed.”

The pit area was jammed with 136 race cars and a packed grandstand viewed the third event of the season at the renovated Georgetown four-tenths-mile facility.

Bouc, driving the BDR Speed/C&S Equipment No. 6, recovered from a poor heat-race draw to make the redraw, then launched off the outside pole for the main event.

On the opening lap, Bouc slipped under Austin Hubbard through turns one and two, taking a lead he never relinquished.

“We got it dialed in tonight,” he said. “It was a pleasure to drive.”

Georgetown’s own Carson Wright pursued Bouc for more than half the event, while being challenged by a pair of New Jersey drivers in Matt Stangle and Billy Pauch Jr.

Ultimately, it was Stangle who broke free from the battle in Bouc’s wake on lap 15 to register a second-place finish after starting fourth. Pauch Jr., of Frenchtown, N.J., completed the podium in his self-owned No. 15. He started fifth.

Opening Day winner Ryan Krachun, also of Neshanic, N.J., placed fourth and Joseph Watson led the Delaware contingent. The Milford resident drove C.W. Warrington’s No. 21W to fifth after starting eighth.

Completing the top-10 were Hubbard, of Federalsburg, Md., who suffered a flat tire on the final lap in the Blades HVAC No. 65; Garden State Hall of Fame driver Jimmy Horton, up from 12th; Ringoes, N.J.’s Ryan Godown, who recovered from a fourth-lap spin; Wright after holding a top-five position for much of the race; and Birdsboro, Pa.’s John Willman.

Godown and Pauch Jr. split the heat races for the 20 cars in attendance.

Chalfont, Pa.’s Greg Humlhanz authored a stirring drive in his heat race, moving from ninth to win on the final lap. He then backed up his performance in the 25-lap main event for the Blue Hen Dispose-All Crate 602 Sportsman, taking his first-ever Georgetown victory.

Humlhanz received $1,000 for his efforts.

Humlhanz started fourth and cleared early leader Adam White for the lead, then thwarted the advances of the track’s all-time winning Crate 602 Sportsman driver – Scott Hitchens – who climbed from eighth to second.

Thomas Sherby of Petersburg, N.J., climbed from 11th to third, with Joe Toth of Upper Makefield, Pa., surging from 13th to fourth. White filled out the front five.

Thirty-five Crate 602 Sportsman signed in for competition. Humlhanz, Sherby, Michael White and Eric Kormann won the heats, while Ryan McKinney topped the consolation.

Buddy Schweibinz of Tuckahoe, N.J., topped the 25-lap main for the visiting Delaware Auto Exchange Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series. The 305 Sprint Car contingent drew 18 cars to the First State on a Friday evening.

Bob DeVault trailed Schweibinz across the line. D.J. Tanner Jr., Dave Grube and Eddie Wagner III completed the top five.

A field of 20 Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars signed in to do battle. Delmar, Del.’s Kerry King was the Modified winner, with Nathan Austin of Georgetown topped the Sportsman event.

Mel Joseph Jr. of Georgetown bested the Little Lincoln field in a 12-lap, caution-free feature. Tyler White, Jordan Herbert, Dylan Betts and Kirk Lawson completed the front five.

A wild 12-lap Delaware Super Truck feature went to Matthew Smith over Shane Clogg, Ryan Efford, Zack Phillips and Dale Elliott.

Bloxom, Va.’s Craig Kelly was the Delmarva Charger winner over Ron Falkner, Wyatt Cummings, Randy Gallaway and Ashley Merritt.  

Racing resumes at Georgetown Speedway on Friday, June 2 with the Deron Rust Memorial paying $3,960 to the winner plus Blue Hen Dispose-All Crate 602 Sportsman ($1,396 to win), First State Chevrolet RUSH Late Models ($1,000 to win), Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars, Little Lincolns, Delaware Super Trucks and Delmarva Chargers.

All Georgetown Speedway events will again be streamed live on FloRacing (www.floracing.tv) produced by the Dirt Track Digest TV production team.

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A website is live for the speedway at www.thegeorgetownspeedway.com. Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail georgetownspeedway@gmail.com or contact the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).


Millman’s NAPA Auto Parts Modified Feature Finish (25 laps): DANNY BOUC, Matt Stangle, Billy Pauch Jr., Ryan Krachun, Joseph Watson, Austin Hubbard, Jimmy Horton, Ryan Godown, Carson Wright, John Willman, Richie Pratt Jr., Danny Hieber, Ryan Riddle, Sean Metz, Tim Millman, Norman Short Jr., Jordan Watson, H.J. Bunting, Blaine Bracelin, Bobby Watkins.

Ad-Art Sign Company Top Spec Small-Block Bonus ($250): Sean Metz (14th)

Blue Hen Dispose-All Crate 602 Sportsman Feature Finish (20 laps): GREG HUMLHANZ, Scott Hitchens, Thomas Sherby, Joe Toth, Adam White, Eric Kormann, Tom Moore Jr., Jordn Justice, Jim Dallett, Michael White, Matt Smith, Jason Musser, Brandon Watkins, Ryan McKinney, Jarod Millman, Aaron Headley, Luke Bunting, Dakota Kohler, Zac Weller, James Hill, Ryan Simmons, Brian Rogers, Jacob King, Donnie Tingle, Ashley Metz, Robert Dutton.

Did Not Qualify: John Stevenson, Brayden Benson, Justin Zook, Kaleb Steele, Jeff Marker, Richie Walls Jr., Rodney Cordrey, Chris Martinez, Brandon Reed.

Mid-Atlantic Sprint Series Feature Finish (20 laps): BUDDY SCHWEIBINIZ,Bob DeVault, D.J. Tanner Jr., Rick Stief, Dave Grube, Eddie Wagner III, Jeff Paulson, Cory Cornell, Larry McVay, Dale Eggert, Darren Cox, Shelby Kelly, Kenny Laureno, Josh Bricker, Tim Iulg, Jared Kreider, Andy Best, Dan Leaper.

Southern Delaware Vintage Modified Feature Finish (12 laps): KERRY KING, Jason Dean, Terry Chaney, David Smith, D.J. Cameron, Jamie Eichholz, Austin Hubbard.

Southern Delaware Vintage Sportsman Feature Finish (12 laps): NATHAN AUSTIN, Roscoe Clough, Garrit Reagan, Glenn Lyon, Luke Dill, Donald Porter, Cale Pettyjohn, Jason Cahall, Jamie Schirmer, Hunter Bensel, Emily Farrell, Maddy Jefferson, Mike Harman Jr.

Little Lincoln Feature Finish (12 laps): MEL JOSEPH JR., Tyler White, Jordan Herbert, Dylan Betts, Kirk Lawson, Nathan Austin, Eric Reed, Bryan Piercy, Ryan Walsen, M.J. White, Eric Bodenweiser, Andrew Hopkins, Hiram Lasher.  

Delaware Super Truck Feature Finish (12 laps): MATTHEW SMITH, Shane Clogg, Ryan Efford, Zack Phillips, Dale Elliott, Scott Trice, Dylan Todd, Truck No. 27, T.J. Hazlewood, Troy Hopkins, Robert Smith, Jerry Hill, Thomas Jackson, Tony Guinta, J.R. Bergman, Michelle Jackson, Greg Nailor.  

Delmarva Charger Feature Finish (12 laps): CRAIG KELLY, Ron Falkner, Wyatt Cummings, Randy Gallaway, Ashley Merritt, Randy Merritt, Tyler Hottle, Kyle Hurley, John Healy, Mike Harman Jr., Jay Lowman, Garren Morris, Robbie Strain.