Successful Shakedown: Ross Robinson Surges Late for $3,026 Mark ‘Coot’ Williams Memorial Win at Georgetown

GEORGETOWN, DE – Successful shakedown.

On Thursday night, Georgetown Speedway hosted a prelude to the upcoming Melvin L. Joseph Memorial Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event on April 28, and hometown driver Ross Robinson staked his claim on Victory Lane at the Sussex County facility.

Robinson powered to a $3,026 top prize in the Mark ‘Coot’ Williams Memorial for Stockley Speed Supply Super Late Models after a race-long battle with Pennsylvania invader Brandon Bernheisel.

The 26-lap event, which ran caution free, featured a two-man battle for the lead between Bernheisel and Robinson.

Bernheisel set the pace from the outset of the event while Robinson worked the extreme high lane in the opening set of corners to claim second. From there, the race was on.

As Bernheisel led, Robinson remained in close pursuit, working high and low lap-after-lap.

Bernheisel’s No. 119 repelled all challenges until slower traffic changed the race’s complexion.

On the 20th tour of the renovated four-tenths-mile, Bernheisel’s pace was slowed momentarily in turn two by a lapped car. Robinson seized the opportunity and swept into a lead he wouldn’t relinquish.

Tyler Emory ran down the lead pair in the final laps and claimed second, with Bernheisel third. Drake Troutman and DeShawn Gingerich completed the front five.

Robinson, entering his second season following the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, hopes the victory serves as a springboard for success later this month.

Robinson remembered his friend Mark ‘Coot’ Williams, a Delaware staple who passed away after a battle with Cancer in 2018. Williams’ No. 26 was prominent during the night.

“’Coot’ hated black, slick tracks,” Robinson said. “He would have loved the surface tonight.”

Heat winners for the 17 assembled Super Late Models were Emory and Robinson.

The event was Round No. 1 of the 11-event Stockley Speed Supply Super Late Model Series contested at Georgetown, Delaware International Speedway in Delmar, Del., and Potomac Speedway in Budds Creek, Md.

Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., topped the First State Chevrolet RUSH Late Model 30-lap touring series ‘Battle of the Bay’ event, collecting a $3,000 top prize. Blair, a national Super Late Model star, led all 30 laps of the event.

Reigning Georgetown champion Trevor Collins challenged Blair but settled for second. Austin Hubbard rallied from 21st starting position to claim third in the Klink Family No. 49, with Joe Martin and Jeremy Wonderling completing the front five.

A healthy 39-car RUSH Late Model field signed in for the second of four ‘Battle of the Bay’ events.

D.J. Cameron picked up the Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Car 12-lap event, while Cale Pettyjohn was declared the Sportsman division winner.

In the 12-lap Delaware Super Truck main, David Smith bested Jerry Hill, Zach Phillips, Cameron Benson and Greg Nailor.

The Delmarva Charger 12-lap main saw Jay Lowman emerge from a back-and-forth battle with Wyatt Cummings to take the victory. Cummings, Ashley Merritt, Craig Kelly and Randy Merritt trailed.

Action resumes at Georgetown Speedway on Friday, April 18 with the Melvin L. Joseph Memorial paying $18,049 to the winner for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. NASCAR star Ross Chastain has announced his plans to enter the event in a Niece Motorsports Super Late Model. Little Lincolns, Delaware Super Trucks and Delmarva Chargers complete the program.

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A website is live for the speedway at Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail or contact the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).


Mark ‘Coot’ Williams Memorial Stockley Speed & Supply Super Late Model Feature Finish (26 laps): ROSS ROBINSON, Tyler Emory, Bryan Bernheisel, Drake Troutman, Deshawn Gingerich, Trevor Feathers, Donald Lingo, Jr., Amanda Robinson, Danny Snyder, Brent Robinson, Kyle Hardy, Rob Schirmer, Robert Paczkowski, Trevor Collins

Did Not Start: Tyler Horst, Rick Eckert, Max Blair

RUSH Late Model Series Battle of the Bay Feature Finish (30 laps): MAX BLAIR, Trevor Collins, Austin Hubbard, Joe Martin, Jeremy Wonderling, Nick Davis, Jeremy Pilkerton, Matt Glanden, Chad Sines, Michael Duritsky, Jr., Kyle Hardy, Garret Paugh, Cody Dawson, Charlie Sandercock, Matt Latta, Joe Brosseau, Brock Pinkerous, Kyle Sopaz, Bryce Davis, Russell Erwin, Ashton Briggs, Ben Scott, Jim Rasey, Andy Michael, Tyler Hoy

RUSH Late Model Non-Qualifier Race (10 laps): BRANDT GRAHAM, Travis Justice, Matt Tepper, Craig Graham

Did Not Start: Ryan Hare, Gregory Carrico, Mike Wonderling, Jason Knowles, Marc Berzowski, Kerry King, Megan Mann, Joe Warren, Demetrios Drellos, Matt Hill

FK Rod Ends RUSH LM Fast Qualifier ($100): Joe Martin – 19.629

Sunoco Dash Winner ($100): Max Blair

Southern Delaware Vintage Modified Feature Finish (12 laps): DJ CAMERON, Jamie Eichholz, Terry Chaney

Southern Delaware Vintage Sportsman Feature Finish (12 laps): CALE PETTYJOHN,Nathan Austin, Roscoe Clough, Glenn Lyon, Mike Harman, Robert Blann

Delaware Super Truck Feature Finish (12 laps): DAVID SMITH, Jerry Hill, Zack Phillips, Cameron Benson, Greg Nailor, Thomas Jackson, L.J. Walburt

Delmarva Charger Feature Finish (12 laps): JAY LOWMAN, Wyatt Cummings, Ashley Merritt, Craig Kelly, Randy Merritt, Billy Cummings, Garren Morris, Tyler Hottle

One comment