Finally: Ryan Krachun Records Georgetown Speedway Modified Breakthrough Win

Written by Cody Manmiller

GEORGETOWN, DE – On a refreshed and newly configured Georgetown Speedway, Neshanic, N.J.’s Ryan Krachun went wire-to-wire in the 25-lap, $3,000-to-win Millman’s NAPA Auto Parts Modified race under the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Racing Series banner.

Also on Friday night, Kenny Miller III captured the season-opening Rapid Tire USAC East Coast Sprint Cars while Ryan Simmons earned $1,000 for his Blue Hen Dispose-All Crate 602 Sportsman feature win.

As the gates swung open at the Sussex County oval, fans were greeted to a facility that had undergone a facelift for the 2023 season, in addition to a reconfiguration that brought the corners in while widening the racing surface dramatically.

In the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Racing Series Modifieds, the first points race at Georgetown under the NASCAR banner, Krachun jumped out to the early lead, ahead of Billy Pauch Jr., Jordan Watson, Austin Hubbard and Danny Bouc. Krachun immediately built a comfortable lead before engaging in lapped traffic within the first 10 laps.

As Watson and Ryan Godown tried to run in the outer lane, Hubbard moved into third, bringing Bouc and Matt Stangle with him into the top five.

Following a series of cautions around the lap-11 mark, Krachun again jumped out to a lead, with Pauch in second and Stangle advancing on to the podium. As the race continued green, Krachun never wavered and cruised to his first victory at the Georgetown Speedway, capturing $3,000.

Pauch suffered an issue on the final lap, dropping to fifth and allowing Stangle to cross the line in second, Bouc in third and Godown in fourth.

Rounding out the top-10 were: John Willman, H.J. Bunting, Jimmy Horton, Ryan Riddle and Norman Short Jr.

Kenny Miler III of Morgantown, Pa., blitzed the field of Rapid Tire USAC East Coast Sprint Cars for his first victory since 2020 in the 25-lap main. Miller came from seventh, and scooted into the lead on the top by the seventh lap, driving around Joey Amantea, the early-race leader.

As Miller drove away, Amantea, Kyle Spence, Briggs Danner and Steven Drevicki battled on for second. With cars sprawled all over the surface in turns three and four, Spence eventually raced into the runner-up position with Amantea settling for third. Danner and Drevicki rounded out the top five.

In the 20-lap Blue Hen Dispose-All Crate 602 Sportsman feature, Garden State driver Ryan Simmons of New Egypt, N.J., took advantage of his fortuitous track position and shot out to the lead. After a series of cautions. Simmons still had control of the race and drove out to his first career win at Georgetown, worth $1,000.

Michael White outlasted Tom Sherby for second, while Zac Weller and Greg Humlhanz rounded out the top five.

Jamie Eichholz won the Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars; David Smith captured the Delaware Super Trucks; Jay Lowman earned the Delmarva Chargers race; and Kirk Lawson drove to the win in the Little Lincoln division.

Fans don’t have to wait long to return to the Georgetown Speedway, as the Mark “Coot” Williams Memorial Super Late Model “Shakedown” takes place on Thursday, April 13 with $3,000 on the line. The First State Chevrolet RUSH Late Models will join the card for the “Battle at the Bay” and another $3,000 to the winner. The Southern Delaware Vintage Stock Cars, Delaware Super Trucks and Delmarva Chargers are also in action.

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A website is live for the speedway at Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail or contact the speedway hotline at 302.563.GTWN (4896).


Millman’s NAPA Auto Parts Modified Feature Finish (25 laps): RYAN KRACHUN, Matt Stangle, Danny Bouc, Ryan Godown, Billy Pauch, Jr., John Willman, HJ Bunting, Jimmy Horton, Ryan Riddle, Norman Short, Jr., Brandon Grosso, Bobby Watkins, Austin Hubbard, Carson Wright, Sean Metz, Jordan Watson, Cale Ross, Danny Hieber, Ron Roberts, Joseph Watson, Tim Millman

Ad-Art Sign Company Top Spec Small-Block Bonus ($250): Norman Short

Kruger Trailer Hard Charger ($250): Norman Short (20th to tenth)

Blue Hen Dispose-All Crate 602 Sportsman Feature Finish (20 laps): RYAN SIMMONS, Michael White, Thomas Sherby, Zac Weller, Greg Humlhanz, James Hill, Eric Kormann, Matt Smith, Brandon Watkins, Tom Moore, Jr., Jim Dallett, Dakota Kohler, Jacob King, Ryan McKinney, Jason Musser, Adam White, Brian Rogers, Richie Walls, Jr., Chris Martinez, Jeff Marker, Jarod Millman, Scott Hitchens, Joe Toth, Greg Reed, Jordn Justice, Tyler James

Did Not Qualify: Brayden Benson,Justin Zook, Trey Hicks, William Adams, John Stevenson, Ashley Metz

Rapid Tire USAC East Coast Sprint Car Feature Finish (25 laps): KENNY MILLER III, Kyle Spence, Joey Amantea, Briggs Danner, Steven Drevicki, Steven Snyder, Jr., Preston Lattomus, Chris Allen, Jr., Christian Bruno, Bobby Butler, Bruce Buckwalter, Jr., JT Ferry, Aidan Borden, Chase Cherry, Ed Aiken, Mike Thompson, Austin Graby

Southern Delaware Vintage Modified Feature Finish (12 laps): JAMIE EICHHOLZ, DJ Cameron, Allan Austin, Terry Chaney

Southern Delaware Vintage Sportsman Feature Finish (12 laps): NATHAN AUSTIN, Cale Pettyjohn, Glenn Lyon, Roscoe Clough, Garrit Reagan, Jamie Schirmer, Robert Blann, Hunter Bensel

Little Lincoln Feature Finish (12 laps): KIRK LAWSON, Jordan Herbert, Eric Reed, Ryan Walsen, Tyler White, Scott Calhoun, Dylan Betts, Mel Joseph, Jr., MJ White, Andrew Hopkins

Delaware Super Truck Feature Finish (12 laps): DAVID SMITH, Jerry Hill, Robert Smith, Tony Guinta, Greg Nailor, LJ Walbert, Jesse West, Thomas Jackson, Troy Hopkins, Steve Portillo,Zack Phillips, Dale Elliott, Dan Streebig, TJ Hazlewood

Delmarva Charger Feature Finish (12 laps): JAY LOWMAN, Robert Paczkowski, Ashley Merritt, Wyatt Cummings, Randy Merritt, Ron Falkner, Tyler Hottle, John Healy, Mike Harman, Jr., Billy Cummings, Jasper Drengler, Garren Morris, Robbie Strain, Craig Kelly