Traveling Short Track Super Series Returns To Georgetown Speedway Tuesday, August 30 For ‘Blast at the Beach’ Special; $5,000-To-Win Modifieds, STSS South Region Champion Will Be Crowned

GEORGETOWN, DE – After a blockbuster Melvin L. Joseph event in March, the traveling Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series (STSS) Fueled By VP returns to Georgetown Speedway Tuesday, August 30.

For the third consecutive year, the historic Georgetown half-mile will play host to the ‘Blast at the Beach’ promotion, a 35-lap big-block/small-block Modified event offering a winner’s share of $5,000, with $1,000 reserved for 10th and $400 to take the green flag. The total payout for this event exceeds $25,000!

The ‘Blast at the Beach’ will decide the champion of the seven-race STSS Velocita South Region.

Joining the Modifieds on the program are Crate 602 Sportsman ($1,000 to win), Delmarva Chargers and Delaware Super Trucks. A rain date of August 31 is in place.

2016 will mark the third ‘Blast at the Beach’ running.

Last year, local driver Jordan Watson of Milford, Del., drove to a popular victory with the crowd, while Ryan Watt of Boyertown, Pa., was crowned the inaugural STSS champion.

In the first event contested in 2014, New York teenager Tyler Dippel invaded and stole the show.

Earlier this year at Georgetown it was another Empire State driver – Anthony Perrego – who recorded a Georgetown triumph in the Gary Mann-owned No. 55 during the March Melvin L. Joseph Memorial.

Track conditions have been a focus by the Georgetown management team this season to correlate with off-track clean-up and improvements. Competitors have raved about the tacky and racy conditions presented during the two most recent programs: the Ultimate Super Late Model Series stop on June 2 and URC 360 Sprint Car/Modified doubleheader on July 22.

During the July 22 program, H.J. Bunting scored a victory in the ‘Blast at the Beach’ qualifier and earned a guaranteed redraw position for the main event on Aug. 30. Bunting heads to the ‘Blast at the Beach’ knowing his Jake Marine-owned No. 85 is already in the starting field.

General information, times, prices and rules for the ‘Blast at the Beach’ have been posted on both the track and series websites:

Georgetown Speedway, originally constructed by Melvin L. Joseph in 1949, is located at the intersection of Route 113 and Speedway Road in Georgetown, Del., just miles from the Delaware beaches and less than a 40-minute drive from Ocean City, Md.

A new website is live for the speedway at Like Georgetown Speedway on Facebook, follow @thegtownspdwy on Twitter, e-mail or contact Brett Deyo at 845.728.2781 during business hours for more information.


‘Blast at the Beach’ Race History – Georgetown Speedway

Sept. 1, 2015: JORDAN WATSON – Howard O’Neal – Ryan Watt – Jimmy Horton – Andy Bachetti

Aug. 26, 2014: TYLER DIPPEL – Jamie Mills – Duane Howard – Rick Laubach – Ryan Godown